Historic Preservation Commission


The Board is composed of seven members who must be residents of the City. If possible, members must be professionals in the fields of architecture, history, architectural history, archaeology, or other history-related fields such as urban planning, american studies, american civilization, cultural geography, or cultural anthropology. Lay persons with special interest, experience, or knowledge in any of those fields must make up the balance. The City Commission requests nominations from the Southeast Volusia Historical Society. The Historic Preservation Committee members serve three-year terms.


The Board recommends designation of historic districts, landmarks, and sites; advises on historic preservation; coordinates the City's preservation work with Federal, State, and County governments and other City departments; etc.


  • As required
  • City Commission Chambers,  City Hall, 210 Sams Avenue

Agendas & Minutes

Click Here

2019 Donnadine Miller Memorial Historic Preservation Award​

The Historic New Smyrna Beach Preservation Commission is pleased to announce it is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Donnadine Miller Memorial Historic Preservation Award.  Awards are given annually to one single-family residential and one non-residential historic preservation project that promotes pride in the City’s past and increases awareness and appreciation for buildings that contribute to the history and character of New Smyrna Beach.  Buildings 50 years and older or sites associated with a historic event are eligible.  The nomination deadline is January 31, 2019.

Click here to download an application.



  • Marvin Owens, Chair
  • Nora-Jane Lysaght Gillespie, Vice Chair
  • Virginia Schow
  • Lianne Bennett
  • Kay Matheny
  • Dr. Harriet Winokur