Code Enforcement Board & Special Magistrate

Photo of a birdseye view of a neighborhood street dotted with single-family homes


The Code Enforcement Board was founded because the City recognizes that neighborhoods and the structures that inhabit them require maintenance to remain in good condition.  If property owners do not ensure that regular maintenance is performed, this can cause both property values to decrease and local crime to increase.  This can be prevented by ensuring that an agreed upon set of codes and regulations are followed.

If prompt action is not taken to correct a code violation, there are several possible courses of action.  For example, if the grass on a particular lot is overgrown and the structure upon it is abandoned, the City can arrange for a lot to be mowed and structure to be boarded at the expense of the property owner.

If legal action becomes necessary due to non-compliance, a notice to appear before either the Code Enforcement Board or Special Magistrate will be served to provide the property owner an opportunity to explain their case and correct the violations to avoid fines and/or liens.


The Code Enforcement Board is composed of seven members who serve three-year terms and must be City residents.  Membership must, whenever possible, consist of an architect, businessman, engineer, general contractor, subcontractor, and REALTOR®.

The Special Magistrate is a licensed attorney appointed by the City.


The Code Enforcement Board is empowered to take testimony under oath, issue orders to command whatever steps are necessary to bring a violation into compliance, and fine violators for non-compliance.

The Special Magistrate hears appeals concerning values, classified uses, and exemptions.


Code Enforcement Board meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 4:30 PM in the City Hall Commission Chambers (210 Sams Avenue).

Special Magistrate sessions are held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 9:00 AM in the City Hall Commission Chambers (210 Sams Avenue).

No meetings are held in June and December.

Members of the Code Enforcement Board

  • Dr. James Booker III
  • Dan Copfer
  • Rex Huffman
  • Wade Mahood
  • Steven Sheriff
  • Michael Slayton
  • Clifford Wharin